According to a report from the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, in 2018, there were 281,685 traffic crashes on North Carolina roadways, leaving about 125,454 people injured. Being hurt in a car accident can be a painful and overwhelming experience. If you were injured in a car accident caused by someone else's negligence or recklessness, you are within your rights to seek fair compensation for your injuries.
Our attorneys at Life Law have devoted their careers to offering outstanding representation in matters of personal injury. We will fight passionately to protect your rights and help you pursue rightful compensation to cover medical costs, lost income, future medical treatment, and pain and suffering. Our team will provide detailed guidance and ensure that the responsible party is held liable.
Life Law proudly represents victims of car accidents throughout all of North Carolina including Raleigh, Wake County, Johnston County, Franklin County, and Durham County.
North Carolina is a fault state. This means that the person responsible for the accident must compensate the victim if they require medical treatment or repairs. Under North Carolina laws, to recover damages, car accident victims are expected to show that the accident occurred due to the other driver's negligence. To pursue compensation, you may:
File a claim with your own insurance
File a claim against the at-fault driver
File a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver
As in many states, car owners in North Carolina are required to show proof of adequate liability car insurance before license plates will be issued for the car. Below are the minimum amounts of liability car insurance coverage required by the law:
$30,000 for bodily injury liability for each person injured in an accident
$60,000 for total bodily injury liability when two or more people are injured in an accident
$25,000 for property damage for each person
Pursuant to North Carolina General Statutes section 1-52, a civil lawsuit for injury or damage to property must be filed within three years. In the case of an auto accident, victims who sustain an injury or property damage must file claims against the defendant within three years from the date the accident occurred.
Furthermore, North Carolina uses a system referred to as contributory negligence to determine fault and establish liability after an auto accident. Under contributory negligence, you may be unable to receive compensation if your actions contributed to the collision in any way, even if it's only by 1%.
A car accident can have significant ramifications on your physical, emotional, and financial health. Hiring an experienced personal injury attorney is crucial to protecting your rights and helping in pursuing fair compensation for your injuries and damages.
At Life Law, our team of experienced attorneys is knowledgeable in the nuances and details of North Carolina personal injury laws and statutes. We can fight to protect your rights and represent your interests. Our team can help:
Provide a detailed case review and carry out an extensive investigation
Gather necessary information and collect every piece of evidence and documentation
Prove and establish fault and liability
Determine and estimate case-value
Communicate and negotiate a fair settlement with the insurer
File a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit, if required
Our attorneys will fight passionately to protect your rights and help you pursue fair financial compensation for your injuries and damages. With our team on your side, you can anticipate a favorable outcome in your personal injury lawsuit.
If you were injured in a car accident caused by a negligent party, you may be entitled to recover compensation. Call Life Law today to schedule a free one-on-one case assessment. Our attorneys can help protect your rights, provide strong representation, and help you pursue your rightful compensation. We are proud to serve clients throughout all of North Carolina. Call now to speak with an experienced car accident lawyer.